Halton Community Combined School

Together, our community

inspires a love of learning and

enables children to find their voice.

Curriculum subject plans


Our EYFS class follow the guidance in the EYFS statutory framework. This means pupils study the 7 areas of learning:

3 prime areas:

  • Communication and language development
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development 

4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The EYFS framework also sets out 'early learning goals'  we support pupils working towards – these are the knowledge, skills and understanding that children should have by the end of reception year.

In developing early reading we use Letters and Sounds as the core scheme for children learning phonics


Year 1 to Year 6 Curriculum:

Pupils in Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6) are expected to learn the core and foundation subjects below 

Core subjects

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science

Foundation subjects

  • Art and design
  • Computing 
  • Design and technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical education (PE) (including swimming lessons in KS2)
  • Foreign languages (for KS2 pupils only)       

RE is a statutory subject which is taught via a half termly "RE Day" for all classes across the school. Included in this are opportunities for SMSC and British Values.

Statutory Relationships Education and Health Education is taught in conjunction with PSHE Education under our whole school approach that we call 'Jigsaw'. Sex education is not a mandated requirement within primary schools but the DfE recommends that a primary school should have a sex education programme tailored to the age as well as the physical and emotional maturity of its pupils.  Therefore, sex education is taught at our school as part of Relationships Education and the subject is referred to as Relationships and Sex Education (RSE) within the planned 'Jigsaw' curriculum.