Halton Community Combined School

Together, our community

inspires a love of learning and

enables children to find their voice.

Curriculum structure


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


There are four guiding principles that shape practice in our early years. These are:
• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
• children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

We plan our curriculum around the seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.
Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:
• Communication and Language
• Physical development
• Personal, Social and Emotional development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the world
• Expressive Arts and Design


Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.


Year 1 to Year 6 Curriculum:

Pupils in Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6) are expected to learn the core and foundation subjects below 

Core subjects

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science

Foundation subjects

  • Art and design
  • Computing 
  • Design and technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical education (PE) (including swimming lessons in KS2)
  • Foreign languages (for KS2 pupils only)       

RE is a statutory subject which is taught via a half termly "RE Day" for all classes across the school. Included in this are opportunities for SMSC and British Values.

Statutory Relationships Education and Health Education is taught in conjunction with PSHE Education under our whole school approach that we call 'Jigsaw'. Sex education is not a mandated requirement within primary schools but the DfE recommends that a primary school should have a sex education programme tailored to the age as well as the physical and emotional maturity of its pupils.  Therefore, sex education is taught at our school as part of Relationships Education and the subject is referred to as Relationships and Sex Education (RSE) within the planned 'Jigsaw' curriculum.